I love Alaska.  I really, really do.  I’m so blessed to be here.  I can’t imagine a more perfectly beautiful place to live.  I was awestruck this evening by the peaceful beauty of the snow.  It was like a magical, fairy land.  Snow falling silently and constantly.  Big, beautiful, fat flakes that seemed sprinkled with glitter.  It was like being in a snow globe, not one of the plastic cheap one, one of the really nice ones.  And I love snow globes.  I think I’d have bought half a dozen for myself and my kids already, but knowing we will someday have to move has stopped me.  This last winter move to Alaska destroyed all globes but one.  The one not destroyed was not packed with the rest, but made the trip in the van, always being hand carried into the hotel when we stopped for the night.  I was taking no chances with that globe, it would have broken my heart to see it broken.  I was sad to see my children’s globes, I had purchased for them for Christmas two years ago, broken.  They were so perfect and matched each child’s interests.  For Xavier, General Lee and Traveler; for Austin, the space shuttle; and for Clara, ruby-red slippers or in her world sparkly shoes.  I thought the packers would refuse to pack them, like they were supposed to. Therefore, I made no efforts to move them out of rooms.  We had been told that because we were moving to Alaska items like that would not be moved with household goods.  We shoudl have been told items like that should not be moved, so you better get them out of the way of our packers because they will do their job well and pack everything in sight.  It’s okay, those globes can be replaced and new memories can be made.  My globe was with Christmas stuff and I knew the packers wouldn’t check those boxes to ensure all items were acceptable.  I’m so glad I did that.  My globe was a gift from my parents my last Christmas with my mom.  I’ll admit the globe is cute but not particularly my style.  The music is cool because it’s Christmas, but not my favorite songs.  But it’s from that last Christmas.  Granted, I don’t remember much about that Christmas.  I can’t even tell you how we celebrated.  The globe didn’t even mean that much until I saw the catalogue it had been ordered from with my mom’s handwriting “for Lori” written next to the globe.  It’s now special because my mom chose it especially for me.  I don’t know why, and it doesn’t matter.  Just knowing my mom saw that globe and wanted it for me is enough to make that the one treasure I carted in and out of hotels along with as few suitcases as we could manage.

Wow, that wasn’t what I had intended to write about.  I was going to write about the awesome craft fair we attended today.  I will say I love the talent that Alaska brings out in people.  The art we saw today was amazing.  I plan to make my house into an Alaska art gallery during the time we are here.  And everywhere else we go everyone who walks into my home will know where my heart is.

