Tonight, I finally got to go Christmas shopping.  Chase got home early.  Not just 5 early, but 3ish early.  Yay for leaders who understand that with the guys leaving soon being at home is more important than anything they could be doing in the office.

First stop Kohls.  With Kohl’s cash and a fifteen percent off coupon I wasn’t missing my opportunity to go there.  Grandma had given me money to buy Xavier pajama pants.  Kohls had Lego Star Wars pants I was planning to get.  Unfortunately, none were left in Xavier’s size.  But they had a combo set with two sets of Star Wars Lego pajamas.  So that’s his gift from Grandma and Grandpa.  It combines Xavier’s two big fads, Legos and Star Wars, and is very practical as my growing child has been growing out of pajamas left and right.  I wasn’t sure what I wanted for Clara yet. Pinkalicious cupcakes were on my list, but the stores suddenly didn’t have those.  I’ll admit the Barbie and Disney aisles called to me.  But she’s not yet really ready to play with those things properly and would just become more stuff.  So I wandered Kohls when inspiration hit.  Tights.  She’s growing out of them and wears them everyday.  With pajamas and three pairs of tights procured I was on my way out.  Suddenly an aisle display caught my eye.  Initial necklaces for $5.  Clara loves wearing all my necklaces, and is finally at the point where she doesn’t pull at them and break them.  Wheels in my head started to turn.  A sparkly necklace would pair nicely with a Fancy Nancy book.  The necklace was grabbed and I made my way to the register.

Next, stop Target for Legos.  A knight set for Austin, and the Star Wars set Xavier said was first on his list.  Plus, the Lego City launch pad with rocket for Chase.  His eyes light up whenever we visit the Lego aisle with the kids.  He also is fascinated with the space program.  Now, which Lego set for Santa to give the kids.  I cringed at the prices of the big sets.  It wouldn’t be so bad, but I knew that all the sets it would be more for one child than the others .  A quick decision was made and I decided Santa would get the sets I had already picked up for the boys and I would get the boys other sets.  And Santa would give the Fancy Nancy books and necklace to Clara.  I bought a Ninjago blacksmith set and a blacksmith knight set.  It’s not about the blacksmiths, it’s that the blacksmith sets have the most weapons.  Hey, I know my audience, axes and swords will score major kudos.

Finally, Fred Meyer.  I had hoped I could find all that I wanted from Kohls and Target.  It’s not that I don’t love Fred, it’s just that I don’t love the other drivers who follow me out of the parking lot.  But Fred had just what I needed to finish my shopping.  A magic baby bottle for Clara, Fancy Nancy books and something else.  I knew that as soon as Chase saw the Lego box, even wrapped, he’d know what it was.  But Fred always has movies on sale.  This time I found Gladiator.  One of Chase’s favorite movies.  I know he plans to buy a tv while deployed, so I thought maybe he’ll find a way to watch movies.  That way I actually will give him something he can use for more than a week or so.  He can take the movie with him. Plus I can put the movie under the tree and hide the Legos.

I love wrapping Christmas presents.  I stuffed the boys Lego boxes so that the Legos don’t make any noise when the box is rattled.  Austin is so bummed right now.  Just wait until he opens that square one that doesn’t make any sound.  Chase’s movie has a not attached “For your big surprise/ Look where you store your ties.”  There he will find a note “You are not yet done/ Look under the guest bed for some fun.”  Heeheehee.

