It’s New Years Day again.  365 days since I started Great White Diaries on Facebook.  So much has changed.  Last year I stared a project that I had no clue if I’d be able to finish, and while not finished I’m still going.  There have been months I haven’t written much, but I’m still trucking, so that’s one for the win column.  It was a sunny New Years Day last year as it is this year, but the feet of snow in the yard is a new thing.  I love the snow, yet am a little weary of it as well.  There’s just so much, and it has to be dealt with.  But it’s beautiful, and while weary of it, I only wish that the walls of snow on the sides of my driveway would shrink, especially the corner that has grown so high I can’t see the street to see if I’m backing into traffic.  I’m further from family and friends, but have still managed to see many loved ones over the past year.  I even managed to make it to Dianna’s wedding, and perhaps coming from Alaska made that even better, as I went without children.  I love my kids, but it was really nice to have straight girl time.  This family is currently down and  husband and father, but he’ll be back before Xavier turns 10.  The dog now wears a sweater because she doesn’t like to be cold.  We have fish again.  I’ve seen more of the United States than ever before, eaten moose and participated in a “race” (quotation marks added because I didn’t exactly race, but I did participate, I walked that mile).  I’m back in leadership.  2010 was a great year off once April hit (and I try not to think about 2010 before April).  But 2011 was just an amazing year.  God has done so much over the last year.  Granted November was a little rough, and December I was back to just getting by instead of doing all the things I should have been doing.  But today is a new day, a new month and a new year.  I’m ready to rock and roll.

Last year I had only one resolution: to remember daily that life is an adventure.  I’ll admit to forgetting that resolution, but I’ll have to say that for the most part I did just that.  That was a fairly nebulous resolution.  Which worked and was even necessary for last year.  I had no idea what the next year would look like, I certainly couldn’t see living the next three months in a hotel, the next month maybe, but not the next three.  This year it’s time to get practical.  I know the basics of what the next year will hold.  I’ll be living in my house, raising my three kids and doing it by myself until Octoberish.  I also know myself.  I’ll just get caught up doing things that don’t really matter and end up wasting a lot of time unless I make a specific plan to do better.  I won’t take time for the little things that are important.  And my life will not be the one God created me for, unless I make a plan.  So I’m making plans.  There are tons of things I want to do better, or change, or start over the next year.  But I’m trying to be practical about all of it and keep those tons of things reasonable.  That being said resolution number 1 is that no matter what happens or doesn’t happen, I will not live with guilt or shame, I will just pick up and get back on track.  A practical example: if I get behind on folding laundry again and Mt. Laundry returns to the floor of my bedroom, there will be no condemnation, just folding.  I want to change, not make myself feel bad.  And if all my good intentions become too much I’ll just do what I can.  I know becoming the person I want to be is a process and it will take time.  A year may not be enough, and you know what, if I manage to become all I want to become and do all I want to do, next year my list of what I want to change will only be different, not less.  We cannot become perfect in this life, there will always be something to do better.  It’s about making forward progress, not getting stuck when everything doesn’t change at once.  So I want to do something in the realm of becoming healthier.  I’ll admit, I’d love to look like I did at 20 again.  but after 31 years of living with myself I’ve learned some things.  #1 I like to eat.  #2 I don’t like to exercise.  So weight loss and losing inches aren’t really practical goals.  But healthier is.  I can resolve to eat more fruits and veggies and prepare more meals from scratch so that I’m eating better.  I also know that I like to dance and have fun, so I can resolve to get Just Dance for the Wii and play that and my dance videos a few times a week.  And that’s just the beginning of the list, there is so very much more.  I want to be a better mom, have a more organized house, etc.  And I won’t get into all that, but I will reveal my plan.  I’m going to start writing stuff down.  I’m gonna have lists like crazy.  What I want to do today, this week and this month.  And whenever I’m bored and don’t know what to do, or overwhelmed and don’t know where to begin, I’m gonna get out those lists and do what I can. If all the stuff doesn’t get done, that’s okay, I know I can get unrealistic at times, but stuff will get done.  And that is the point.

