Praise the Lord, another normal day!  My Dad asked what makes a “normal” day.  My definition is no one’s sick, nothing breaks and I’m gonna add we aren’t up past 10 doing homework.  I’d like to add sun, but that’s not really normal, it just makes the day even better.

My washer arrived early this morning.  Very thankful that I put my book up at 11:30 last night instead of 1.  The installers called at 7:30, arrived a bit after 8 and my new machine was up and installed by 9.  Didn’t have it running until after 11.  The installer reminded me that the machine just came out of a truck that was in -10 degree weather, the parts needed to thaw before I started using it or I could break my new machine before even getting to use it. Not something that I had even thought of before moving to Alaska.  I have done 5 loads of laundry.  The laundry baskets are near empty (there’s only the clothes we wore today).  It’s a good feeling.  But this washing machine can do loads that are 1 and 1/2 times the size of the old washer.  You should have seen the pile of clean laundry I had on my bed today.  I managed to fold the first 3 loads before the kids went to bed.  I have learned that while my washing machine can handle bigger loads, my dryer cannot.  I’m trying to find a happy medium load size that makes both machines happy.  The new washer does vibrate significantly less.  We have gone from earthquake-like shaking of the house to sitting on a massage chair during the high spin cycle.  And when there is a load that doesn’t use the high spin cycle, no vibrations felt at all.  So if you come to visit this summer and the house starts shaking, it’s really an earthquake.

As I’ve felt more earthquakes than seen Northern Lights, I look at being in an earthquake as simply part of the Alaska experience.  I’ve checked out the AK earthquake tracker, and we’ve even had some close by this month.  Granted they are super small and you can’t feel them, but they happen all the time.

I’m starting to develop the beginnings of a daily routine.  Right now, I only have evenings perfected.  But I do have my evenings down.  The general goal is that at 10, my day is done, and I’m sitting on the couch, reading the paper and watching the 10 o’clock news.  And the best part.  a mug of hot chocolate.  Not just any hot chocolate, but hot chocolate I have added vanilla and cinnamon to and topped with whipped cream and chocolate sauce.  It’s so wonderfully relaxing.  And no matter what has or has not been done during the day, nothing gets done after 10.  It is time to relax and go to bed.  The best nights are when I can get all the kids in bed on time and I get my shower taken before 10 so I’m relaxing clean and in my jammies.  That means I have to start getting the kids ready for bed early.  The goal is Clara in the tub at 7, so she can get clean and have plenty of time to play before the boys get in.  I used to wonder why parents would start getting their kids ready for bed so early.  (Although, the parents I wondered about also picked up their kids from day care at 6, so I still kinda wonder about that).  But man, it’s nice to have time to relax before going to bed instead of going and going and going right up until I know I need to get some sleep or I won’t be able to get up in the morning.  Now I just need to figure out the rest of my day, and all the weekly extras that we have going on.

