Groundhog day.  I’m glad to say that it was a unique day.  And no matter what a mammal determines or doesn’t determine, six more weeks of winter would be a short winter.

The Christmas tree finally came down.  I was organizing the living room and came to the conclusion that it needed to be done.  I can no longer say that I don’t have time to take care of it as I have alphabetized our DVD’s and CD’s.  Not all the Christmas stuff is put away yet, but this house is finally moving on.  The living room feels a lot cleaner right now.  Maybe a little bare, but I hope to get up the Valentine’s decorations up by the end of the weekend.

Yep, I’m back to the obsessive-compulsive cleaning that I do so well.  I know I started off the year with plans of organizing the whole house, then I came to the conclusion that I needed to just concentrate on the day-to-day stuff, and now I’m back alphabetizing everything I can.  I came to the conclusion that getting the whole house organized just so is not a bad idea.  I just need to take it slowly.  Rome wasn’t built in a day.  However, I noticed that I am keeping my closet just as perfect as the day I finished it.  My dresser is staying clear and my make-up drawer is still organized.  I realized that I will take better care of things when they are just so, the trick is getting them just so and keeping them there.  So I am trying to live with all my original goals, just with a little bit of balance.  I do need to strive to be a better mom, but raising kids doesn’t happen over night, I do have time.  And no matter what I will make mistakes.  I do need to get better at house-keeping, but I have time.  The people from the show Hoarders haven’t called me yet, I haven’t even been nominated to be on Clean House.  I do need to get healthier, but I have time.  All these things are life-style changes, and those don’t happen overnight, and when you are able to change overnight it generally isn’t permanent.  So I may not be able to get myself down several dress sizes, have Xavier doing algebra and have a spotless, perfect house by the time Chase comes home.  But I can be closer to all those things, and keep getting better even after Chase gets back.

I have an idea in my head of what my life would be like if everything were perfect.  One of the things I envision is actually using all the games I have in my game closet.  So I’ve added a new activity to my daily routine.  After dinner we play games.  I think this is one change I won’t have to try hard to keep up.  Yesterday all three kids beat my in Life.   I think Austin landed on every space where you receive more than $100,000.  Today we played Spot It.  Now this game tests my I-refuse-to-let-kids-win-at-games philosophy.  Being 20-odd years older than Austin, I’m really just that much better at it than he is.  There is no way he could ever beat me.  But if he can never win there is no incentive for him to try, and it’s a good brain exercise.  So I have given myself a handicap to even the playing field.  I count to three before looking at the cards.  For the first time Austin beat me at the game.  Soon I may have to only count to two to be able to keep up with that kid.

