Today is errand day.  In theory, Monday is always errand day.  In theory.  Reality is that there are days when attitudes, sickness, or snow will keep us home.  However, today we had no choice, so I was very glad to see perfect errand weather (perfect being streets I’m not afraid to drive on, this is one area I’m not too picky).  President’s Day or not, the electric bill was due, we were in great need of groceries, and I still hadn’t bought a thumb drive for tomorrow.  With all that I also planned on some fun so that we could get everything done and still have happy kids at the end of the day.

So we paid the bill and then I took the kids out to lunch.  Might as well be full before grocery shopping.  I’m totally impressionable when it comes to food.  It doesn’t take much.  Kramer talked about buying stock in Texas Roadhouse once, and now I can’t even think about Mad Money without a craving a steak and yeast rolls.  So it’s hard on a good day not to get caught up at the grocery store, to help matters I make sure I never go hungry and that I like the food I just ate.  A content tummy is less likely to see strawberries and think about making chocolate covered strawberries.  Well, I try to use eating time to talk with the kids about stuff, and eating out is the best time ever.  Somehow not being at home keeps the kids more focused on the conversation.  During football season we talked a lot about football.  Sunday we talked about what the kids learned at church.  Today was President’s Day so we discussed the two presidents in particular that are being honored today.  Granted our discussion took a lot of turns, from the Revolutionary War to WWII, from the Mayflower to the Dalton Gang.  Yep, we were all over the board.  We’ve been doing this for a while now, but I’ll never get used to the looks I get from the people around me.  I realize we are making noise, but we aren’t being overly loud. And it’s not like we’re the only people who make noise in a restaurant.  But when the guy at the table next to ours can’t keep his eyes off our table, I wonder what I doing wrong.  When the servers or cashiers are watching us, I wonder if we are being obnoxious.  But I just keep talking to my kids.  Because at the end of the day, it’s all about them.  And I’ll deal with all the weird looks the world has to give me to teach and love on my kids.

Then we went to what may just be my new favorite place.  I’ve been wanting to go to the local butcher shop since we moved here.  There’s something about the store that called to me.  But until today I never made the effort to get there.  After today I will be making up for lost time.  One, the people who work there are awesome.  Two, the meat is amazing.  I can’t wait to make stew with my stew meat.  And I bought Xavier some turkey for turkey sandwiches.  Yep, meat from Mike’s Meats from now on.  And in the summer they have a weekly farmer’s market I will have to actually go to instead of think about going to.

Then we were off to the commissary.  And going out to lunch worked.  The kids were well-behaved and none of us got caught up in cravings.  We actually managed to get mostly good food.  Of course there were areas that I did let us get whatever we wanted.  The produce area, the dried fruit aisle, and the juice aisle.  But we didn’t even look at the candy, sodas or deserts.  (Although, it’s easy to overlook deserts when I still have leftovers from my Valentine’s Day party).

