In spite of my best efforts the last two days have not gone as planned.

To start with, I hate my nail polish color.  It’s petty, it’s stupid, and it’s a pain in the neck to remove, so I’m stuck.  Last week’s glittery purple was an inspiration as I watched my pretty fingers accomplish things.  This week’s Copper Penny, or Lucky Penny, makes me sigh with regret.  But as usual, it’s not a total failure, I now know what doesn’t work.  My hands need a bolder color.  Good to know.

Yesterday, I had planned to accomplish much, in spite of having to do so with ugly nails.  But I was tired when I got home from lunch.  So I took a nap.  I really should know better.  Some people can nap.  I’m not one of them.  I awake tired and cranky and can’t shake the feeling for the rest of the day.  But I couldn’t keep my eyes open, so I didn’t have much choice.  And when I woke up, I was tired and cranky and didn’t accomplish much.  I did however manage to watch my favorite tv show and discuss it with Chase over Facebook, so the day wasn’t a complete failure.

Then, when I went to bed, I could not sleep.  Usually, when I can’t sleep, watching tv fixes the problem.  But the internet was experiencing problems, so I was left to my own devices.  That is never good.  It took forever to fall asleep, and then, I woke regularly.  Once I hit good sleep mode, falling back to sleep is not usually a problem.  That would be one of the reasons I’m not much of a morning person.  I never hit the really good sleep mode last night, so every time something woke me, it took forever to fall back to sleep.  So tired and cranky carried over to this morning.

After that kind of night I had no real plans to get stuff done today.  I figured everything would be a huge struggle.  So I loaded up homework for my kids in my purse and headed out to lunch. We would see what actually got done.  Amazingly, the kids worked hard.  And learned much.  From there we hit the greenhouse.  I love that place.  I bought more than a dozen different types of seeds.  It’s a good thing Chase worked hard making gardens for me before he left.  We will use all the extra space.  But I’m excited we will have fresh broccoli, carrots, parsnips, lettuce, and more, and some new flowers that we will have started from seed.  I can’t wait for all this snow to melt.  Then, when we got home, we all just started getting stuff done.  Xavier shoveled the driveway, Austin picked up stuff, and Clara….well, she didn’t cause any new messes.  I got stuff done for PWOC, and finished other items off my to-do list.  The kids were all ready for bed before 8, and I’ve got time for myself and nothing on my gotta do list, that list is all taken care of.

One day I anticipated much, and nothing got done.  The next I didn’t know what to expect and figured we would accomplish just the got to’s, and struggle to do those.  On that day, the whole family surprises me getting stuff done.  Maybe I should lower my expectations more often.

