Well, tonight I have two children feeling that life isn’t fair and one very happy child.  The Celebrity Apprentice is on.  I love NBC, it’s the only major tv station we get anymore, but it’s the one I want the most, the Super Bowl, the Olympics, and Apprentice.  After forgetting about my date with the tv last week, I made sure I remember tonight.  However, for my indulgence the little people had to be to bed on time.  Xavier is older, so I thought I’d let him stay up to watch.  He likes Apprentice, probably doesn’t quite understand what exactly is going on, but he’ll enjoy it.  Austin and Clara, really don’t need to be up until 10 and really won’t understand the show.  The problem with being too young to do stuff is that they are also too young to understand that someday they will get their chance to do stuff like stay up late too.  They also don’t see that when Xavier was their age he had to go to bed too.

Although the misunderstanding goes both ways, there are times that Xavier rolls his eyes and says “I have to do everything around here” when I ask him to pitch in more than the other two.  One would think that he would be able to remember having no chores at age three, I don’t even think he had to do more than clean his bedroom at age 5 and Austin’s got a chore list of his own.

There are times when I’m so tempted to tell Xavier “Remember when you got to stay up late?”  when he whines about having to take the dog out for me.  Or tell Austin “Remember how Xavier has to pick up all the messes Clara makes?” when he pouts that Xavier gets to stay up later than he does.  But then I’m really just fueling the comparison fire.  I get annoyed in general when people who compare their circumstances to others and whine it’s not fair.  Life isn’t fair.  There will always be someone who has more than you do.  There can only be one richest person on the planet and it’s highly unlikely it will ever be you.  There will also always be others who have something that you want, but not have things that you do have.  We often forget that there will also always be people who have less, but we rarely use them as a comparison.  I don’t want my children to look to others to find happiness.  No one likes the person who is only happy when they have the most and biggest toys.  Or the person who is always keeping score with who gets the best jobs and who has to do the worst jobs.  My kids need to learn to be happy with the good stuff in their own life, and learn to deal with having to pitch in.  It’s not fair, but it’s their life and it will never be fair.  Now I just need to figure out how to get them to realize that.  It’s a lot easier to say do you remember when you got the better deal.  Being a parent is hard work.

 

