I’ll admit that Friday and Saturday were off days.  Friday, I just wasn’t getting things done.  And yesterday….yesterday stuff didn’t get done, everyone was cranky.  Yeah, yesterday was not a pretty day in this house.  I’m just feeling the blah’s lately.  I think it’s very possibly the result of not seeing anyone other than my children.  Yes, I’ve got activities three days a week.  Church, PWOC and Bible study.  But it’s not enough.  I need to just hang with people.  That one’s on me.  I need to make plans.  Warning: upcoming whining.  But I’m so bad at it.  I don’t wanna.  I feel like I’m imposing.  It makes me uncomfortable.  Wahhhhhh!!!!  I’d say it would be easier if people were inviting us to stuff, but then I remind myself that we forgot an invitation to a birthday party this week.  So yep, I’m the culprit.  I need to put on my big girl panties and go make plans with friends.  (I’m now whining in my head, but I’ll keep it to myself this time.)

So how did I try to fix the blahs?  Did I try to fix the actual problem?  Hahaha.  Of course not.  I dug further into the blahs by doing nothing.  Starting a movie marathon in my room.  Big, fat, bad idea.  No wonder my blahs got caught by the kids.  I isolated myself from them.  And was a completely crappy example for them.  At some point yesterday though I decided that I’d had enough.  I needed to get off my behind and do something productive.

It’s amazing how making the decision to just do something can change everything.  I went to bed actually tired after doing some of the chores that I had neglected on Friday.  And I woke up to a cleaner more organized house.  So we actually got to church on time.  After church we all went for a walk.  And we talked to a neighbor.    Later this afternoon, I just kept working.  I’m now ready for PWOC, except for practicing.  But that’s the fun part.  I’m all about singing praise songs at the top of my lungs in the privacy of my own home.  But I do need to do what I can to get my voice to sing the right notes at the right times.  I think the problem with my singing ability is not that I have a bad voice, it’s just that I don’t know how to make it do what I want.  I have no vocal control.  That’s my incredibly in-expert opinion.  Then I made the menu for next week.  Which means when I go to the grocery store tomorrow I’ll actually know what I need, instead of guessing what we may want.  So I’m all set for tomorrow.

So tonight, I’m feeling energized and ready for the week.  The kids all went to bed with good moods, mostly.  Austin went to bed in a good mood, until he learned that Xavier would be allowed to stay up for the Apprentice again this week.  Oh well, I can’t win them all.  I know that I still need something more, something outside this house.  I also know that’s on me to make happen this week.  But until I make it happen, hopefully I remember that getting stuff done is better for the mood than holding a pity party.

