Note:  This is the conclusion to June 2, 2012 and June 3, 2012.  Not as emotional, but I saved it because it dealt with what I discussed on those days.

 

I’m amazed how tragedy can bring a husband and wife closer together.  Even a half a world away.  These last few days have been hard, and probably a thousand times more so for my husband.  Coming to the end of it, the love I have for my husband is almost tangible.  He is my best friend.  He is my support system.  He is my helpmate.  I am so much better off having him in my life.

I have to say all this starts with communication.  When I was keeping my feeling all bottled inside, talking didn’t help.  Not that it wasn’t good to hear his voice.  But I still felt at the bottom of a pit.  Then, I stepped out and admitted that things shook me up more than I was comfortable with.  That wonderful man did the best thing ever.  He didn’t tell me to suck it up and be an Army wife.  He didn’t tell me there was nothing to worry about.  He told me that he was shook up too.  He opened up and shared what he was going through.  And we’ve been e-mailing ever since. Okay, for the past couple days, it’s not like this has been going on for a long time.

It’s funny, when we got married we got a decoration that says “With two every sorrow is halved.”  Yeah, yeah, yeah, I’ve heard it, it sounds nice, whatever.  I totally didn’t get it.  Especially now, it doesn’t make sence.  Sharing my sorrow with him should only add to his, and hearing his sorrow should be adding to mine.  But sharing, and then being loved and supported through it all has seemed to lift a weight off me.  It is almost like my sorrow has been halved.

