Today started off with the bummer part of R and R: having to send him back. Not only did we have to take him back to the airport, but his flight left at 1:30 am.  I was so proud of my kids.  They were very well-behaved at the airport.  Extremely silly, but well-behaved.  They love their dad so much.  Even though they were sad they were loving to each other, upbeat, and not whiny.  I couldn’t ask for more.  I guess part of it was that we all just had such a great two weeks.  They all got special time with Daddy.  They also know he’ll be home again soon, and more good times will follow.

The kids fell asleep on the way home.  I had a hard time getting them out of the van.  They all quickly found sleep in their beds once I finally got them out.  I, on the other hand, had a hard time going to sleep.  Our room was dark, and quiet and lonely.  I knew I was very much all alone.  Eventually, exhaustion found me.

As I had a very late night I slept in this morning.  I had every intention of having a very self-indulgent day.  I planned on only doing things that please me.  Life had other plans for me.  Poor Austin was very sick.  All over my living room.  I got to spend the afternoon cleaning the carpet.  It took forever to clean the carpet.  Although, it may have taken less time if I had checked the cleaner first.  The scrubbing brushes were missing, so there was no scrubbing action.  Just spraying and suction.  I didn’t notice the missing element until I finally got the carpet cleaned and wanted to wash the parts of the machine.  An important one was missing.  I put it back together, so it’s ready to go for any upcoming spills.  Although, for this bout of sickness I have Austin all taken care of.  Extra sheets on the bed, washable blankets, and towels on the floor between the bed and the bathroom.

I hope he’s feeling better tomorrow.  We need to get back to normal life.  Groceries, school work, and other miscellaneous chores await.  With all that stuff coming up, I need to get to sleep.  It’s hard though, my bed might not be empty (Austin’s in my bed as it’s the bed closest to a toilet), but it’s still noticeably lonely.

