I started writing on Facebook, not sure where I was headed.  In November, I brought my posts to WordPress to broaden my potential audience.  However, anyone reading on WordPress is missing the first part of the adventure.  So I thought I’d bring some of my old posts over, one at a time, here and there.  I will also be editing them at bit, preparing them for a larger audience.  Here’s the first.

So a few people have expressed interest in keeping up with our Alaskan adventures, so I thought I’d use Facebook notes as a sort of journal that you all can read, if interested. I will do my best to keep up with it, though as Xavier knows I promise nothing. We aren’t there yet, but I thought the first of the year would be a good time to start.  It’s a fresh start, and as I only have today and tomorrow before the packers come, we are close enough to moving.

It is January 1st, a time for New Year’s resolutions, and I have one this year. It’s self-fulfilling knowing where I am going, but that just means I’m gonna keep it.  I resolve to remember that life is an adventure and live it to the fullest.  But that resolution has many parts to it.  When things go crazy or I start to get overwhelmed I need to remember it’s part of the ride.  When it’s negative whatever, I need to remember that freezing my toushie off is an adventure.  I also need to live my life.  I need to embrace Alaska and do all the activities I can while I am there.  Three years are going to pass and unless I make myself go out and do, they will be gone and I will leave Alaska regretting that I didn’t make the most of my time there.  I need to love my family, not just in a mushy, touchy-feely sort of way, but in a practical live it out everyday sort of way.  And I need to get involved in my community and love the wonderful people God is sending me to in Alaska.  I can’t wait to meet all of them.  But all in all, like I said this really should be easy.  Some days may be harder than others, but waking up in Alaska should be more than enough to remind me that I really am living out an awesome adventure.

I know some of you out there have had a really hard 2010, and today is a good day just because it’s not 2010 anymore.  I remember being there exactly a year ago. 2009 was not the best year for the my family, and my husband and I rejoiced January 1, 2010 because even though we didn’t know how, we knew 2010 had to get better.  Well folks, it took a few months. We didn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel until the end of March, but it did come. And thank God, since April, 2010 has been a year of healing and restoration.  So I just want to say, follow God and trust Him that, whatever you are going through, this too shall pass.  And if you aren’t on speaking terms with God, well, that’s the first thing I’d work on to start the year off right.

Well folks, I have to get moving, the packers will be here bright and early Monday morning and I want to be ready for them. I also have a great family to enjoy and a super yummy first dinner of the New Year to prepare.  But I leave you with one last thought, even though you may not be going to Alaska your life is an adventure as well.

